Time Management Rubric for Principals

Are you an expert, proficient, developing or novice?  I’m not sure I want to share my score via blog, but let’s just say I found this rubric extremely useful in looking at my own practices.  I wish I had been aware of this prior to writing my professional goals for the year.  Regardless, I’ve found this document to be very telling and very helpful in examining my own practices and how I approach a day.

The rubric comes from work Kim Marshall did called The Big Rocks, Priority Management for Principals (Principal Leadership, March 2008) http://www.marshallmemo.com/articles/Time%20Management%20PL%20Mar%2008.pdf

PRINCIPAL: TIME MANAGEMENT RUBRIC

 

EXPERT: LEVEL 4

a. I have a laser-like focus on student achievement and my strategic plan for the year.

b. Staff members know exactly what is expected of them in terms of classroom instruction and discipline.

c. I have an effective personal planning system for the year, the month, the week, and the day.

d. All key teams (e.g., leadership, grade-level, SST) are sched­uled to meet on a regular basis.

e. I have a foolproof system for writing things down, prioritizing, and following up.

f. I have highly competent people in key roles and delegate maximum responsibility to them.

g. I visit 3–5 classrooms a day and give face-to-face feedback to each teacher within 24 hours.

h. I have effective strategies for preventing or deflecting time-wasting crises and activities.

i. I take care of myself, including family, health, exercise, sleep, and vacations.

j. I regularly evaluate progress toward my goals and work on continuous improvement.

 

PROFICIENT: LEVEL 3

a. Keep student achievement and my strategic plan in mind every day.

b. Most of my staff members know what is expected in terms of classroom instruction and discipline.

c. I write down a list of what I want to accomplish each week and each day.

d. Several key team meetings are scheduled to occur on a regu­lar basis.

e. I always write important things down and follow up on the most critical ones.

f. Most of my key staff members are competent and I give them plenty of responsibility.

g. I get into some classrooms every day and give personal feed­back to each teacher.

h. I am quite good at preventing or deflecting most time-wasting crises and activities.

i. I try hard to balance my job with my family, health, exercise, sleep, and vacations.

j. I periodically review how I am doing on my weekly goals and try to do better.

 

DEVELOPING: LEVEL 2

a. I periodically remind myself of my strategic plan and the goal of student achievement.

b. I often have to remind teachers of policies on instruction and discipline.

c. I come to work with a list of what I want to accomplish that day.

d. Each month, I have to schedule key meetings because they are not in people’s calendars.

e. I try to write things down but am swamped by events and sometimes don’t follow up.

f. Because several of my key staff members are not competent, I hesitate to delegate to them.

g. I try to get into classrooms as much as possible, but many days I don’t succeed.

h. I try to prevent them, but crises and time-wasters sometimes eat up large chunks of time.

i. My family, health, exercise, sleep, and vacations are suffering because of my job.

j. I try to keep track of how I am doing on my goals.

 

NOVICE: LEVEL 1

a. Each day is driven by events, not by my long-term goals.

b. I am constantly reminding staff members to use better proce­dures for instruction and discipline.

c. I have a list in my head of what I want to accomplish each day but sometimes lose track.

d. I call grade-level, curriculum, and other meetings when there is a crisis or an immediate need.

e. I trust my memory to retain important tasks, but I sometimes forget and drop the ball.

f.  My key staff members are not that competent and I must do almost everything myself.

g. I am so busy that I rarely visit classrooms.

h. Large amounts of each day are consumed by crises and time-wasting activities.

i. I neglect my family, rarely exercise, don’t sleep enough, and am in poor health.

j. I occasionally berate myself for not accomplishing my long-range goals.

 

For additional resources and articles from Kim Marshall see: http://www.marshallmemo.com/about.php

Leave a Reply

