You Had Me At Hello

Using the Inventory of Practices for Promoting Children’s Social Emotional Competence (say that three times fast) has opened my eyes to something very important.  You see, most mornings I try my best to be outside, at the front of the school to greet students and be available to parents and community members.  Occasionally, I do get a week where I have a run of morning meetings and can’t be outside.  Even then, I greet students as I see them and welcome them to a new school day.

As the year progresses I observe in classrooms, formally and informally throughout the day.  More than often my observations focus on core instruction and delivery of curricular topics.  Admittedly, until I started using  Practices for Promoting Children’s Social Emotional Competence, I didn’t purposely and formally observe student arrival time as much as I should!

This is a key component of school day success.  I’m not saying I completely ignored this time, because that’s not accurate.  What I do realize is that while it’s important for me to visible and greeting students at the door in the morning, it’s also important for me to be observing their arrival in the classroom.  The  Practices for Promoting Children’s Social Emotional Competence‘s first section under the heading “Building Positive Relationships” measures whether the adults in a room “greet children on arrival; calls by name” and “communicates with children at eye level.”  Observing several classrooms this week I was happy to see students receiving meaningful greetings from the adults in the classrooms throughout the building.  That being said, I think as a leader in the building, it’s important for me to be emphasizing the power of that first interaction of the day on the success of students.

 

Resources:

What would happen if . . . teachers greeted students at the door? by By Miceal Kelly, RIMSAVID Program Manager

School Productivity: Happiness Matters by Barbara Gruener

Greet Your Students Every Day by Linda Holliman

Practices for Promoting Children’s Social Emotional Competence

 

One thought on “You Had Me At Hello

Leave a Reply

