The Frozen Five 1-8-12

 

We’re just about to start getting ready for an afternoon skate, so I thought I’d better tackle the Frozen Five before heading out the door.  If the pic above isn’t an indicator of my Frozen Five theme for the week, then I don’t know what would be!

5. Digging Out – I’ll admit it…I got jammed up last week.  This time of year always seems a little heavy on the work load side of things.  You’ve got the holidays, vacations, people suddenly realize that you’re heading into the second half of the year, town meeting coming up, budgets, scheduling, stress, darkness in the morning and afternoon, etc.  You get the idea.  I’ve got a stack of stuff (tackled a bunch today) that I need to sort through and get a handle on. I’m looking forward to checking some things off my Google Tasks!  Actually a simple, clean list tool to use across platforms.

4. Amazon – I ordered a geeky administrator starter kit from Amazon and the pieces of it should be arriving this week!  A couple of books (“Thinking, Fast and Slow” by Daniel Kahneman, “The Schools Our Children Deserve: Moving Beyond Traditional Classrooms and “Tougher Standards””
by Alfie Kohn, “Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us” by Daniel H. Pink), a couple of toys for the iPad, magazine subscriptions and a hat!

3. CCC – We’ve started up a new character development and community service program for our fourth grade students called the Cougar Community Crew.  This is our pilot year, but so far so great!  Our SRO is involved and it’s a great chance to connect with students and provide them an opportunity to make connections with those beyond the school walls.

2. Sharing with Administrators – I’ve started meeting with the middle school administration on a weekly basis.  The middle school shares a parking lot with us.  It’s become clear that we can learn a lot from each other when we have the chance to share challenges and planning opportunities.

1. Summer School Meeting – Yep…it begins.  I was fortunate to be a part of the planning around our summer school program last year.  It’s an important program and I’ve enjoyed being a part of amping it up.  Last year we incorporated Camp Invention into our system.  It opened up the idea that summer school can look very different than it has in the past.

Leave a Reply

