It’s a Nice Day for a Bus Ride!

This morning I rode one of our buses to school.  The kids, and families, were completely surprised…in a good way!

 

I volunteered to ride to support the driver in implementing positive behavioral supports, but I walked away with one of the simplest strategies for connecting with kids!  With thirty minutes set aside this morning I was able to:

  • see neighborhoods that I wasn’t really aware of
  • experience how our students start their day
  • connect with kids and families in a social, relaxed way
  • help support our amazing bus driver in implementing positive behavioral supports for students
  • change up my routine a bit (this is starting to be the theme of my week)
  • talk to students I don’t normally get a chance to connect with without interruption
  • carry over expectations from bus to school and school to bus
  • and much more that hasn’t hit me yet!

This was definitely one of those “little things” that is a very important thing.  I’m going to try to hit the road once a week for a couple of weeks and believe this strategy should be put into everyone’s tool box!

One thought on “It’s a Nice Day for a Bus Ride!

Leave a Reply

