Beat the Summer Principal Funk

image from newsone.com

I’ve found myself in a bit of a funk this week.  If I think back on it I’m pretty sure that it happens just about every summer at this time.  I find summers as a principal very interesting and don’t think that people have a good sense of what it’s like or the work that is done.  It’s honestly quite busy!  I always tell people to imagine that they are going to open a business with about a month and a half of planning and prep.  That business will feature about seventy staff, up to 300 customers on the first day that you open, have about four days to train your staff for opening and have more moving parts than Hubble.  That’s summer.  It’s equally challenging to do the planning and prep with limited access to the staff that grace these hallways for the school year.  Just to be clear, the folks I work with are super dedicated and more often than not spend many hours of their summer here; however, I do my best to give them the time they need and deserve to recoup and energize with their families by not calling on them during the summer if I can help it.

So back to my funk.  Just having those days where I don’t feel super productive, can’t see the progress I’m making toward being ready for the beginning of the school year, etc.  Luckily for me I’ve learned from past experience how to push through the funk.

Put One Foot in Front of the Other

Just keep moving and grooving.  Smile, connect with people and just keep plugging away.  The groove will return with time.  Don’t stop moving.  Dig in on stuff that you’ve been working on for a while.  For example, I’ve been looking at using video more in supervision and evaluation.  Check out https://www.teachingchannel.org/videos/improve-teaching-with-video if you’re interested in a peak.  Ten minutes of reviewing this stuff and I’m hooked again.

Reconnect

As I thought about my funk, I realized that I had slacked off from my number one source of inspiration and motivation…my PLN.   As Tony Sinanis pointed out recently in a post called PLN Redefines PD, your PLN can be the best source for that kick in the seat that we all need sometimes just to keep going.  Last night I started to dig back into my online world and immediately found myself saving ideas, taking notes and making a list of things to check out.  It felt good and exactly what I needed.  Here are a few of my finds:

HarvardBiz's avatar

How to Start a Conversation You’re Dreading s.hbr.org/1qE5A8S

Give Yourself a Break

We’ve all heard the advice “listen to your body and mind” but we often don’t listen or we listen and ignore.  If you feel like you’re needing a break, figure out a way to make that happen.  Maybe it’s a series of small breaks, whatever the case, sort it out.

 

Focus on Happiness 

Just read a great post by @BergsEyeView called Feeling Good Feels Good.  Seth Berg’s advice is:

When I think about where I’ve been, what I’ve experienced, where I’m headed, and how I aim to get there, I always ask myself, “will this path contribute to enhanced happiness for me and for those I serve?”  That question helps me focus on what’s important to me.

 

So I’ve got a strategy, got a plan and I’m going to keep on keeping on.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

