It’s One Thing When I’m Proud of My Kid, But When She’s Proud of Herself…Well, That’s Something

Today was a big day…started very early.  At about 4:30 a.m. I heard some rustling in the hallway.  I usually wake up that early so it didn’t bother me, but since it was Saturday I kind of ignored it and stayed in bed a bit longer.  When I finally got up and opened my door my daughter was standing there…completely dressed and ready for her first 5k race.  She said, “I’m sorry…I tried to sleep but I’m just too excited!”  All morning we prepped, talked, planned…everything.  I don’t get to do everything with my gals, so when I do I relish it.  And this was a relishable day.

We were the first or second people to arrive for registration. Grace got her number and got to experience that moment before the race…that energy that I’ve experienced before but was a first for her.  The whole time I was totally focussed on her…so proud, so happy.  I ran beside her the whole way documenting her race for her mom and sister who couldn’t be there (admittedly I’d likely have done it anyway).  At the end of the race I knew I would be full of pride, but it was the moment after she got her medal that got me.  She simply said, “I’m really proud of myself” and she smiled a smile I don’t always see.  Best part of my week by far.

One thought on “It’s One Thing When I’m Proud of My Kid, But When She’s Proud of Herself…Well, That’s Something

Leave a Reply

