@TCRWP Institute Not Just About Writing and Reading #tcrwp

I just spent a week at Teacher’s College of Columbia University for a Writer’s Workshop institute.  There were multiple tracks to this experience. The educational aspects of writer’s workshop, administrative planning, our own writing practices, and the list goes on.

When I was packing prior to the institute I was pretty certain I would experience aspects of the above tracks.  For whatever reason I didn’t really calculate the power of the connections I would encounter, even though I experience it everyday with my PLN.

I’m truly grateful for the experiences that presented themselves during this week.  Each one has changed my thinking, learning and writing in more ways than expected. I’ll be sharing another post later this week about writing, learning and being a writing principal and what it all means, but for now I just want to appreciate the connections, trying new things, taking risks, meeting new people and reaching out to keep connections alive. Thank you.

I consider this man a mentor to me.  @TonySinanis has been teaching me about life and learning for a long time now and believe it or not, we've never met in person until this past week.
I consider this man a mentor to me. @TonySinanis has been teaching me about life and learning for a long time now and believe it or not, we’ve never met in person until this past week.
Meeting Cornelius Minor (@MisterMinor) was one of the highlights of the trip for me.  His words led to sooo many connections within my own work and thinking.  I was able to connect with him via Twitter after our session and continue to learn from his experiences and knowledge.
Meeting Cornelius Minor (@MisterMinor) was one of the highlights of the trip for me. His words led to sooo many connections within my own work and thinking. I was able to connect with him via Twitter after our session and continue to learn from his experiences and knowledge.
I draw a great deal of inspiration from the work of @caseyneistat and couldn't pass up the opportunity to visit his studio...well, the door to his studio.  Still a cool moment.
I draw a great deal of inspiration from the work of @caseyneistat and couldn’t pass up the opportunity to visit his studio…well, the door to his studio. Still a cool moment.
I met many principals and educators while at the institute, but meeting @FelixRGil stood out as a highlight!  His energy and investment in education is amazing.  Follow him!
I met many principals and educators while at the institute, but meeting @FelixRGil stood out as a highlight! His energy and investment in education is amazing. Follow him!
Ran into my good friend Nick.  We were in each other's weddings and haven't seen each other in ten years.  Talked about life, learning and even writing.
Ran into my good friend Nick. We were in each other’s weddings and haven’t seen each other in ten years. Talked about life, learning and even writing.
@colleen_cruz added so much energy and humor to the week that I left each session laughing and feverishly trying to write everything down!  She's awesome and tweets great stuff!
@colleen_cruz added so much energy and humor to the week that I left each session laughing and feverishly trying to write everything down! She’s awesome and tweets great stuff!
Author @lester_laminack was so powerful in each of his presentations that at least have my writer's notebook is dedicated to his words, wisdom and humor.
Author @lester_laminack was so powerful in each of his presentations that at least half my writer’s notebook from that week is dedicated to his words, wisdom and humor.
@vickigraf2 has always been a mentor to me as a learner and leader.  We spent our time discussing all the greatness from the institute and how we were going to change our own practices in the future.  We visited @littleBits, explored the city and talked about writing as leaders.
@vickigraf2 has always been a mentor to me as a learner and leader. We spent our time discussing all the greatness from the institute and how we were going to change our own practices in the future. We visited @littleBits, explored the city and talked about writing as leaders.
@tndnvt, @teachvt, @vickigraf2 and I visited the 9/11 memorial one evening.  Powerful...real...amazing.  A feeling I'll never forget.
@tndnvt, @teachvt, @vickigraf2 and I visited the 9/11 memorial one evening. Powerful…real…amazing. A feeling I’ll never forget.
To hear Lucy Calkins speak is to be reminded of what it means to know the life around you.  She reminded me of the stories that sit waiting to be told.
To hear Lucy Calkins speak is to be reminded of what it means to know the life around you. She reminded me of the stories that sit waiting to be told.
Leave a Reply

