You Can Learn A Lot From A Chiru

I still can’t believe how much doing these book reviews has opened up for me in so many ways:

  • I’ve been able to connect with students and families about books!  I know this sounds small, but it’s a big addition to my day and life.
  • I’ve been learning a lot about literature, science, life and storytelling.  Much more than I have prior to doing these.  It’s been helping me read more on a weekly basis.  This most recent book ignited a spark to read more about a distant land and that’s amazing
  • I explore the books I review with my own children, getting their insight into the text and what is really relevant and connects for them.

I can’t say enough about a relatively small thing that pays off in a big way.

This most recent review is of a non-fiction picture book called The Chiru of High Tibet written by Jacqueline Briggs Martin and illustrated by Linda Wingerter.  This book was just powerful…that’s all there is to it.  The way the story is told combined with the exceptional illustrations (how they show the grandness of the task) are just exceptional.  It wasn’t hard to come up with a top ten for this one.

Leave a Reply

