Why Do We Call It Break?

Today is the end of something we often call “break.”  I’ve never really understood the dynamics of “break.”  The word suggests that we are stopping something for a short amount of time.  While I may not have had many meetings, seen classrooms full of kids and educators, I still thought about everything, got inspired, reflected, made lists, wrote furiously, loved my family, got outside…and then some! So what did I do with my “break?”

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 8.35.22 AM

I read this book, Teach Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess and wrote, wrote, wrote many a note.  I like to read this books and translate the practices to my world as an administrator as well as how take in strategies for effective teaching.  Great book!

DSC08216

We got a dog…I mean another dog…Eleanor.  Nothing is quite as relaxing as having a new puppy in the house…one whose own bladder function operate kind of like the randomness of a game of bingo.  But still…she’s awesome.  I can’t pretend to complain…another amazing personality in the house!

I tried to get outside as often as possible…but to be honest I took advantage of having a couch once or eight times.  Still, one of my favorite moments of the week was getting out for a hike with my gal.
Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 8.45.36 AM
We even took the big dog out for a walk…she’s not much for stamina, but she’s loved the bike path!

I also spent some time gearing up for my week dressing up as book characters!  The list looks like this:

  • Monday Pinkalicious
  • Tuesday Gerald the Elephant
  • Wednesday Piggie the Pig
  • Thursday Mercy Watson the Princess in Disguise (also a pig…dressed as a princess…a two-fer)
  • Friday Chewbacca

Also sneaking in Mike Mulligan somewhere in there for preschool.  I’m excited for the week…and I learned how to make an old sweatshirt into an elephant, so there’s that.

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 8.53.25 AM

And now it’s Sunday…and “break” is coming to an end…and it’s going to be a great week ahead!  I still don’t know why we call it “break.”  I think I was busier than usual!

Leave a Reply

