An Educator’s Bag O’ Tricks #everydaycarry #hacklearning

I get asked, OFTEN, what I pack in my bag on a given day.  I’m extremely mobile in my job so I essentially carry my office and a full video and audio studio, just in case something amazing springs up (which happens quite often).  So…I thought I would share a post about it.  I randomly numbered everything so here we go:

  1. Manfrotto MB NX-BP-VGY Backpack for DSLR Camera, Laptop & Personal Gear  I’m a major bag geek…seriously. I’ve always joked about starting a bag review channel just so I could get a lot of bags and backpacks.  We actually did a fair amount of research prior to getting this one and I have to say I’m totally happy with it.  Lots of pockets, carries tons of stuff without getting bulky and it’s not going to break on you.
  2. MacBook Pro – I also work on a Chromebook, but the MacBook helps me significantly with the heavy video, audio and image production work.
  3. A Book – I always have some sort of professional book with me that I chip away at.  This week’s book is Hacking Education…great format, good stuff.  Warning…you’ll want to start a Voxer group immediately after reading.
  4. Birthday List – I keep a paper copy of the birthday of every employee in the district and send out a message in the morning of their special day.
  5. Pencil Case of Doom – Cords…everything has a different cord!  I got tired of them rattling around in my bag so I tossed them all in an old pencil case.  There’s a couple of external drives in there for video stuff too.  Nothing fancy, but it works
  6. JOBY Gorillapod – Handiest little tripod you’ll ever come across. Indestructible as well.  Works great…wouldn’t trade it in for a larger one either.
  7. Rode VMGO Video Mic GO Lightweight On-Camera Microphone  – Learned a long time ago that the secret to great video is very decent audio.  Schools are tough environments to get good audio in…when you really start listening!  So this is great as you can hear a student clearly regardless of noise around them.
  8. Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III Telephoto Zoom Lens – I don’t use this often but when I do it’s a gem.  It was part of the set with the camera but I use it when I’m really concentrating on getting good still images.
  9. Canon EOS Rebel SL1 Digital SLR – Love this camera (wish it had the tilt LCD) and it has been a real work horse for me.  Why white?  It was cheaper than the same camera in black.  Yep…tells you a little about how I think.
  10. Adapter –  Didn’t say what you thought I was going to, did I?
  11. RODE lavalier microphone  – For the particularly geeky audio maniacs…turns your mobile device into a podcasting studio.
  12. UV Filter – I like it
  13. Olympus Digital Voice Recorder DM-420  – Probably one of my favorite tools to use…an oldy but a goody, this audio recorder has some of the best, clearest audio I’ve heard.  It works very well and uses a mini-SD card.

14. Presentation clicker thing…I went without one for a long time, but then caved.

15. Those aren’t mints! I keep my earphones in this case…no tangles!

16. Moleskine Notebook(s) – I fell down the Bullet Journaling rabbit hole a while ago and there’s been no turning back.  I even keep the previous month’s journal in my bag, just in case.

17.Keys and stuff…lot’s of keys…and school ID

18.Post its

19. Extra camera battery…need it often

20. Pens that I take from places

That’s it. I can survive being in any building at any time with this stuff.  Sometimes I go days without getting back to the office, so I’ve found this to work quite well.

One thought on “An Educator’s Bag O’ Tricks #everydaycarry #hacklearning

  1. Pingback: What I Learned From My #cellphoneonly Week #hacklearning #satchat – Michael Berry EDU

Leave a Reply

